Featured post

The Australian Monotype

bunny

The monotype is the simplest form of printmaking, it is often overlooked, often misinterpreted.

Australians are strongly represented in worldwide monotype practice, however, their documented history is lacking. The first documented flourishing of monotypes worldwide occurred immediately before the turn of the 20th century. The Australian artist Rupert Bunny was present in Paris in the 1890’s making colour monotypes. Contemporary monotype practice is flourishing in Australia.

This website strives to inform interested individuals about the marvellous monotype practice throughout Australia. The blog on this site, will discuss monotype business, exhibitions, and artwork. A database of Australian monotype practitioners will reside on this site in the future. Please contact me on monotype business with the above contact details. I hope to start a web ring of monotype artists and interested curators to disseminate information.

I have finished writing a thesis on Australian Monotypes for my PhD at the Australian National University. The site is a continuing tool for this research. I am collecting the most complete information regarding monotype practitioners in Australia. I am interested in visual artists who have developed a body of work in monotype.

Image Credit: Bunny, Rupert Meneads, c.1924, Monotype on thick wove paper in the Charles Sturt University Art Collection.

Australian Monotype paper now available in hard copy for purchase.

Impac8 Publication Flyer

The Impact 8 International Printmaking Conference Publication, including the peer reviewed paper on Australian monotypes by Dr. Thomas A. Middlemost is now available for purchase.

Further information is available on the Impact8 website at:
http://www.conf.dundee.ac.uk/impact8/publication/

Purchases can be made through the University of Dundee Online Store at:
http://www.buyat.dundee.ac.uk/browse/extra_info.asp?compid=1&modid=1&catid=370&prodid=2132

Impac8 Publication Flyer

Links

Tony Ameneiro: http://www.tonyameneiro.com/

Kim Barter: http://www.kimbarterart.com/

Jon Cattapan: http://www.joncattapan.com.au/

Cecile Galiazzo: http://www.cecilegaliazzo.com/

Debra Luccio: http://www.debraluccio.com/

James Pasakos http://www.jamespasakos.com/

James Whitington: http://www.crownstreetpress.com/james_whitington.htm

Australian Monotype Articles

(IMPRINT, 20.04.06.) James Whitington: Crown Street Press a Printmakers Exhibition, Mary Place Gallery, Sydney, N.S.W., 20.06.06-02.07.06
http://www.crownstreetpress.com/press_articles/Imprint.htm

(Unpublished Comment), Tony Ameneiro: New Works, Impressions on Paper Galley, Canberra, A,C.T., 26.04.07-20.05.07
http://www.tonyameneiro.com/webpages/texts/tommiddle.html

(Opening Speech), Debra Luccio New York Figures: Dancers and Life Models of New York City, Steps Gallery, Melbourne, Victoria, 04.09.07-30.09.07
http://www.debraluccio.com/images/mediarelease/openingspeech.pdf